WWW Wednesday – August 19th, 2020

encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS...
The Burning God will be out November 17th, 2020 from Harper Voyager.

I’m currently reading The Burning God by R. F. Kuang. The Burning God is the final novel in the epic fantasy series, The Poppy Wars. Almost all of her allies have betrayed Rin, but that won’t stop her from burning everything in her way as part of her quest for revenge. Rin will free Nikan, and protect it from the Hesperians attempting to colonize it or die trying. Kitay is the only friend she can count on, now that she and Nezha are on opposite sides of the conflict.

The Burning God is everything that you would expect, given the first two volumes. The brutalities of war are on full display here, and I can’t imagine that this book will have a happy ending. I’m getting tissues ready because I think that this book may break my heart. Poor Rin has had such a hard life, and I just want to wrap her and Kitay (and maybe Nezha??) in a hug and tell them everything will be alright.

Preorder here:

49789629

I just finished reading The Year of the Witching by Alexis Henderson. This book has been on my radar for a while, but I got lucky with a Front of the Line loan from Libby.

The Year of the Witching takes place in this secluded, puritanical society where the Prophet oversees the community. The Prophet is the law and under his strict leadership, the people of Bethel survive by carefully following the rules. Dealing with complex themes of class, gender, race and religion, Alexis Henderson makes a stunning debut in The Year of the Witching.

When Immanuelle enters the Darkwood, following in her mother’s footsteps, she encounters the four witches there. That sets of a chain of events in which curses – Blood, Blight, Darkness, and Slaughter – could destroy everyone in Bethel. Immanuelle and Ezra, the Prophet’s son, work together to try to save the community and survive without getting sent to the pyre.

Read my full review for The Year of the Witching later this week!

Buy here:

The Project will be out in February 2021 from Wednesday Books.

I’m about to start The Project by Courtney Summers. I know that this is going to be a mistake. I’ve read Sadie, and I know that Courtney Summers is the queen of inflicting emotional pain. Plus, one of my friends (Janel Allison) just finished the book, and her review so far is five stars with “What the fuck?” as her comment. Courtney is going to hurt me, and I’ll probably thank Courtney for it.

The Project looks like it will be an emotional rollercoaster covering some sensitive topics. I have faith Courtney will write a captivating thriller that will haunt me for a long time to come.

Preorder here:

If anyone has some fluffy or happy books to recommend me, drop a comment below. I certainly can use them after this week!

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – August 19th, 2020

  1. “Plus, one of my friends (Janel Allison) just finished the book, and her review so far is five stars with “What the fuck?” as her comment.”

    LOL LOVE YOUUUUU good luck ❤

    Like

Leave a comment